38370 Point Breeze Road, Colton’s Point, MD20626
Phone: 301-769-2222 • www.stmarysmd.com/recreate/museums
The museum’s exhibits and new orientation film trace the history of St. Clement’s Island and the English colonization in Maryland with emphasis on the landing of the first 140 colonists on near-by St. Clements Island in 1634. The museum also holds artifacts that tell the story of life on the Potomac River in earlier times. On the grounds is a 19th-century one-room school used until the 1960s and relocated from nearby Charlotte Hall. Maryland Civil War Trails Site. The museum has a pier and docking facilities, and offers seasonal water taxi service to the island, weather permitting. Also visit the reconstructed Blackistone Lighthouse on St. Clements Island. Group and student tours available. Call for dates of water taxi service and Blackistone Lighthouse tours.
41680 Tudor Place, Leonardtown, MD 20650
Phone: 301-475-2467 • www.stmaryshistory.org
Tudor Hall was originally built in 1744 and was enlarged in the 1760s. This Georgian-style house became the home of Phillip Key, uncle of Francis Scott Key, author of the Star Spangled Banner. Unusual features of the house are the inset portico, the main hall’s hanging staircase, and a “triple fireplace” in the kitchen. Maryland War of 1812 Site. Tudor Hall serves as the research library for the St. Mary’s County Historical Society and also houses the Historical Society’s bookstore with books on genealogy, and local and regional history.
At Sotterley Plantation
visitors can learn about one of the few original, restored slave cabins in Maryland.
is the sole surviving Tidewater plantation in Maryland that is fully interpreted and open to the public
44300 Sotterley Lane, Hollywood, MD 20636
Phone: 301-373-2280 • www.sotterley.org
Overlooking the scenic Patuxent River, the plantation encompasses nearly 100 acres of open fields, gardens, and shoreline. Sotterley Plantation is the sole surviving Tidewater plantation in Maryland that is fully interpreted and open to the public. Construction of the now rare “earth-fast” main dwelling began in the early 1700s. The house grew over time into a rambling residence featuring fine period woodwork. Highlights include the shell alcoves in the drawing room and the hall staircase. Over 20 outbuildings are part of the site’s 300 plus year evolution including a Customs Warehouse, Smoke House, and an original Slave Cabin dating to the 1830s. The site also features a museum shop and nature trails. Accessible by water, call for information.
The Navy’s first aircraft, the Curtiss A-1, was also the earliest float plane (also known as a hydroaeroplane) is on display at the Patuxent River Naval Air Museum
22156 Three Notch Road, Lexington Park, MD 20653
Phone: 301-863-1900 • www.paxmuseum.com
The Navy’s aircraft and flight systems have been evaluated and refined at the Patuxent River Naval Air Station since WW II. The Museum conserves and presents that story, and is the nation’s only official Navy Museum dedicated to naval aviation research, development, testing and evaluation. Interior exhibits include a propulsion display, unmanned aerial vehicles (including a full-scale mockup of the X-47A Pegasus unmanned combat air vehicle), crew system artifacts, ejection seats, radars, and test instrumentation. An outdoor aircraft park displays 21 naval aircraft, and features both the X-32B and X-35C Joint Strike Fighter concept demonstrators tested at Pax River. For a nominal fee, visitors may fly in the sophisticated simulators of the resident Mach Combat™ facility. There is also a museum store.
Special events, like Woodland Indian Discovery Day, bring focus to different aspects of life in early Maryland at Historic St. Mary’s City
Light shines through the windows of the reconstructed Chapel of 1667.
18751 Hogaboom Lane, St. Mary’s City, MD 20686
Phone: 240-895-4990 • http://www.hsmcdigshistory.org
Historic St. Mary’s City is an outdoor museum located on the site of Maryland’s first colony and first capital. The museum protects one of the nation’s finest colonial archaeology sites. Decades of research are the foundation of living history exhibits assembled across the landscape. Highlights include the Town Center, where visitors may tour Smith’s Ordinary, a 17th-century forbearer of the modern hotel, and the Print House, where they will hear the story of the first printer south of Boston. Nearby, the Woodland Indian Hamlet details the lives of the Yaocomaco Indians who assisted the first colonists. The Godiah Spray Tobacco Plantation is a working farm with first-person interpreters and heirloom livestock. The Maryland Dove, a working representation of the square-rigged vessel that carried Lord Baltimore’s original expedition to Maryland is moored on the St. Mary’s River, which appears much as it was 375 years ago. Discover Maryland’s legacy of liberty at the Brick Chapel, a symbol of the colony’s early practice of religious toleration, and the St. John’s Site Museum, which encloses the excavation of the house where the state’s first legislators met. There is also a Visitor Center with exhibits, a museum shop, and a network of trails. Accessible by water, call for information.
2750 Sweden Point Road, Marbury MD
Phone: 301-743-5159 • www.mattawomanart.org
Mattawoman Creek Art Center is located at Smallwood State Park and offers monthly exhibits, studio rentals, facility rental and a gift shop. Visit the website for specific exhibit information, programming workshops, lectures, demonstrations, films, and seminars with professional artists for participants of all ages, levels of experience, and artistic involvement.
10515 Mackall Rd., St. Leonard 20685
Phone: 410-586-8501 • Fax: 410-586-8503
Experience, discover, learn and have fun at JPPM! Over 70 archaeological sites have been identified on the property, reflecting over 12,000 years of human occupation. Tour exhibits in the visitor center and exhibit barn, browse the gift shop, hike miles of trails, discover the Indian Village, launch a canoe or kayak, rent the pavilion or just enjoy the beautiful views.
Also on the grounds is the Maryland Archaeological Conservation Laboratory, a state-of-the-art archaeological research, conservation and curation facility. The lab also houses a number of major collections acquired through private donation to the Maryland Historical Trust. All of these collections are available for research, education, and exhibit purposes to students, scholars, museum curators, and educators.
Young child enjoys watching one of the Calvert Marine Museum’s famous otters.
A selection of models at the Calvert Marine Museum
illustrating different boats that have traveled the Chesapeake Bay.
14200 Solomons Island Rd. • PO Box 97, Solomons 20688
Phone: 410-326-2042 • Fax: 410-326-6691
The Calvert Marine Museum is the only museum on the East Coast that is home to two lighthouses, rich maritime history and diversity of life in the Chesapeake Bay come alive. See a skates and rays exhibit, models, paintings, woodcarvings, aquariums, fossils and boats. Outdoor exhibits include a boat basin, river otter habitat and a recreated salt marsh.
The Chesapeake Beach Railway Museum features collections related to the Chesapeake Beach Railway and the towns and resorts of Chesapeake Beach and North Beach that attracted regional visitors from 1900 to 1935.
4155 Mears Ave. • PO Box 1227, Chesapeake Beach 20732
The Chesapeake Beach Railway Museum shares the story of the Chesapeake Beach Railway and Amusement Park in the early 20th century. Photos and artifacts show summer crowds enjoying the beach and ride on the railroad. The Museum building is the only surviving station from the old Railway. It is on the National Register of Historic Places.
4025 4th Street, North Beach MD 20714
The Bayside History Museum explains the role the Chesapeake Bay environment had in shaping the cultures of Bayside communities from prehistoric time to the present. Through research and interpretation of collections, the museum promotes stewardship of this heritage for future generations.