December 18, 2017
Hughesville, MD – The Executive Director and the Board of Directors of the Southern Maryland Heritage Area Consortium are pleased to announce the Mini Grant Awards for 2017! In keeping with the mission of the Southern Maryland Heritage Area Consortium, this granting opportunity is focused on preserving the heritage of Southern Maryland through innovative tourism, excellence in cultural and natural resource conservation, and unique educational opportunities.
The Southern Maryland Heritage Area Consortium had its greatest response to the Mini Grant Program to date, with over $50,000 in grant requests. This program has a current cap of $15,000 for Mini Grant awards. Of the many excellent proposals received, the SMHAC Board of Directors selected the following organizations and programs to receive the 2017 Grant Awards:
The Arts Council of Calvert County
- For the creation of the “Barn Quilt Trail” project with the goal of preserving and protecting the barns and craftsmanship of primitive arts in Southern Maryland.
Friends of Jefferson Patterson Park and Museum
- In support of the “2018 Speaker Series” which serves as an avenue for topics and speakers not always included in the regional dialogue.
Chesapeake Beach and Railway Museum
- For the critical need of a comprehensive “Museum Interpretive Plan” that will address how best to engage and attract visitors to this unique historical site.
The Piscataway – Conoy Tribe of Maryland
- For the implementation of a segment of the “Through Piscataway Eyes” Master Plan, with a focus on a “Traditional Native Arts Display” at the Charles County Visitor Center.
Friends of Chapman State Park
- For the program “The Culinary Story of Mount Aventine and Southern Maryland Cuisine” including culinary demonstration events featuring original recipes, and interpretation of how the use of the kitchen has evolved over two centuries.
St. Mary’s County
The Unified Committee for Afro-American Contribution
- For the project “United States Colored Troops Interpretive Center Display” which will include research and documentation of African American life, history and culture.
Historic Sotterley, Inc.
- In support of the “Common Ground, Connected Heritage Program” which builds on the Descendants Project, a program initiated to document the shared history of all Americans.
Each of the programs selected for an award will enhance the Southern Maryland experience for our visitors, residents, educators and businesses. An Award Ceremony is planned for February 2018.
38370 Point Breeze Road, Colton’s Point, MD20626
Phone: 301-769-2222 • www.stmarysmd.com/recreate/museums
The museum’s exhibits and new orientation film trace the history of St. Clement’s Island and the English colonization in Maryland with emphasis on the landing of the first 140 colonists on near-by St. Clements Island in 1634. The museum also holds artifacts that tell the story of life on the Potomac River in earlier times. On the grounds is a 19th-century one-room school used until the 1960s and relocated from nearby Charlotte Hall. Maryland Civil War Trails Site. The museum has a pier and docking facilities, and offers seasonal water taxi service to the island, weather permitting. Also visit the reconstructed Blackistone Lighthouse on St. Clements Island. Group and student tours available. Call for dates of water taxi service and Blackistone Lighthouse tours.
44720 Lighthouse Road, Piney Point, MD 20674
Phone: 301-994-1471 • www.stmarysmd.com/recreate/museums
Climb the oldest lighthouse on the Potomac River, constructed in 1836. The site was once a summer resort for Washington dignitaries including several U.S. presidents. Today, a 6-acre park surrounds the lighthouse and keepers quarters with a picnic area, kayak launch, a boardwalk, pier and sandy beach. The museum details that site’s history and also includes artifacts from the WW II U-1105 Black Panther German submarine which lies just offshore in an area designated as the state’s first Historic Shipwreck Dive Preserve. A maritime exhibit of historic wooden boats that once plied the waters of the Chesapeake Bay is housed in a separate building. Accessible by water, call for information.
The Navy’s first aircraft, the Curtiss A-1, was also the earliest float plane (also known as a hydroaeroplane) is on display at the Patuxent River Naval Air Museum
22156 Three Notch Road, Lexington Park, MD 20653
Phone: 301-863-1900 • www.paxmuseum.com
The Navy’s aircraft and flight systems have been evaluated and refined at the Patuxent River Naval Air Station since WW II. The Museum conserves and presents that story, and is the nation’s only official Navy Museum dedicated to naval aviation research, development, testing and evaluation. Interior exhibits include a propulsion display, unmanned aerial vehicles (including a full-scale mockup of the X-47A Pegasus unmanned combat air vehicle), crew system artifacts, ejection seats, radars, and test instrumentation. An outdoor aircraft park displays 21 naval aircraft, and features both the X-32B and X-35C Joint Strike Fighter concept demonstrators tested at Pax River. For a nominal fee, visitors may fly in the sophisticated simulators of the resident Mach Combat™ facility. There is also a museum store.
6655 Rose Hill Road, Port Tobacco, MD 20677
Phone: 301-392-1776 • www.nps.gov/thst
Front of Haberdeventure
This site features Haberdeventure, the NPS-operated home of five generations of the Stone family, including Thomas Stone, one of Maryland’s signers of the Declaration of Independence. The site includes a visitor center and family cemetery.
3725 Dr. Samuel Mudd Road, Waldorf, MD 20601
Phone: 301-274-9358 • http://drmudd.org
Featured on “Maryland Civil War Trails: Escape of an Assassin,” the house and farm commemorate the life of Dr. Samuel Mudd, the physician who treated the injured leg of John Wilkes Booth after he assassinated President Abraham Lincoln in April of 1865.