Tag Archives: St. Mary’s County

2015 Mini-Grants Funded

Southern Maryland Heritage Area Consortium
Roz Racanello, Executive Director
PO Box 745, Hughesville, MD 20637
Phone: 301-274-4083, Fax: 301-274-1924
Email: SoMdHeritage@tccsmd.org

October 21, 2015

***PRESS RELEASE***

Small Grants for Tourism Projects Funded.

The Southern Maryland Heritage Area Consortium (SMHAC) announced today that twelve projects submitting Mini-Grant applications will receive funding.

These funds are made available to non-profits and government organizations inside the Heritage Area that seek to promote heritage tourism and economic development.  Heritage tourism is defined as traveling to experience the places that authentically represent the stories and people of the past and present – including historic, cultural and natural resources.

The projects receiving funding are:

Calvert County

Conservation of artifacts from the George Rice House at Biscoe Gray.   Working with the MAC Lab at Jefferson Patterson Park, the County will conserve objects found near this African American site on the Farm.  Once properly conserved, the artifacts, and any information they provide, can become part of an exhibit.

Arts Council of Calvert County – Barn Quilt Trail.  Calvert County will join a number of communities to use the sides of barns as canvases for quilt patterns.  They will begin by identifying one visible barn to paint and hold a ribbon cutting event in the Spring.

Calvert County Natural Resources – Natural Resources Brochure – printing.  A brochure was created and produced and now the Department wishes to use and promote the brochure more widely since it consolidates information about individual parks in a single source.

Bayside History Museum – Native American Day at the Beach exhibit. This will be part of an exhibit on the first floor of the museum, consisting of a canoe and artifacts from Colony Beach. A mural surrounding the dugout canoe (donated to the museum) will be created using the funds.

American Chestnut Land Trust – New Interpretive Signs on Turkey Trail. This Trail is the most popular hiking trail in the ACLT lands, and they will add to the hikers experience by interpreting the natural world around them. Highlighting conservation issues as well as flora and fauna the signs will include an introduction to the protection efforts of the ACLT.

Charles County

Historical Society of Charles County – Holiday Trail 2015.  This relatively new event will increase from 11 sites to 18 this year with the addition of a number of historic sites in the County.  The funds would help produce brochures, postcards and banners to promote the expanded Trail.

Maryland Veterans Memorial Museum – Exhibit for Washington/Rochambeau Trail.  The Museum is on this historically significant trail.  The trail route is a long series of roads used by the Continental Army under Gen. Washington’s command as well as Jean-Baptiste Rochambeau during the 1781 march from Rhode Island to Virginia.  The Museum will construct a series of exhibits relating to the route.

Friends of Chapman Forest – Historic Interpretive Posters – Preservation Study. The goal is to expand on the Preservation Study at Mt. Aventine completed in spring of 2015, and to duplicate key documented findings on large interpretive “posters” to display in the mansion. The posters would be on easels on both stories in the west wing.

Farm Heritage Conservancy – Serenity Farm Slave Grave Project. This new project will produce a short documentary titled: “Remembered by the Wind: The Slave Graves of Serenity Farm.” To be shot in HD video and provided to public television and other platforms, the film will tell the story of the uncovering of the burial ground.

St. Mary’s County

Unified Committee for Afro American Contributions (UCAC) – How Women Got the Right to Vote.   An exhibit detailing women’s suffrage in the US based on election day 1920, as millions of women exercised their right to vote for the first time after the passage of the 19th Amendment.  The exhibit will be displayed at the US Colored Troop Memorial Interpretive Center.

Point Lookout State Park – Photo Tour Book of the Park.  This book will be a walking tour guide with historical and educational significance.  There will be a trail of sequentially numbered stops, (17 have been identified,) and each will be depicted and described in the booklet.

Greenwell State Park – Explore Greenwell.  This project will create brochures that focus on the park’s history, environment, natural resources and tourism products, including information about Rosedale Manor.  The goal is to increase tours of all aspects of the park.

All those who wish to learn more about membership or future grant offerings should contact the Consortium by email, SoMdHeritage@tccsmd.org or by phone at 301-274-4083.
Additional information about the Southern Maryland Heritage Area is available on the web at: www.DestinationSouthernMaryland.com.

The mission of the Southern Maryland Heritage Area Consortium (SMHAC) is to enhance the economic activity of Southern Maryland through combining quality heritage tourism and small business development with preservation, cultural and natural resource conservation and education. The SMHAC receives support from the three county Boards of Commissioners, the MHAA, the Tri-County Council for Southern MD and private contributions.

*********************************************************

Advertisements

St. Mary’s Chapel

12960 Point Lookout Road, Ridge, MD 20680

In 1884, Trinity Church, located in St. Mary’s City, sold a portion of its land to the State and used some of the proceeds to establish a chapel of ease in Ridge for its members who had to travel long distances to services.  The stained glass windows installed in 2002 were designed in a “Victorian/Art Nouveau” style.  Listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Trinity Episcopal Church

16855 Point Lookout Road, St. Mary’s City, MD 20686
Phone: 301-862-4597  •  http://www.trinitysmcmd.com/

Originally established in 1638, the first Trinity Church was a wooden structure located on Smith Creek.  In 1642, it was moved to St. Mary’s City and in 1694, when the state capital was moved from St. Mary’s City to Annapolis, the local State House served as the church for 134 years.  The present-day church was constructed in 1829 using brick salvaged from the original 1676 State House.   Listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

St. Ignatius Catholic Church, St. Inigoes

17682 Grayson Road, St. Inigoes, MD 20684
Phone: 301-862-4600

The first chapel of St. Ignatius was built in 1641 in St. Mary’s City.  In 1704, the colony’s early policies of religious toleration were abolished and the chapel was closed.  The church was dismantled and the bricks taken down river to land owned by the Jesuits.  After the American Revolution, in 1785, the present day St. Ignatius Church was built.  Listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

St. Andrews Episcopal Church

44078 St. Andrews Church Road, California, MD 20619
Phone: 301-862-2247  •  http://www.standrewsleonardtown.org/

Built in 1767, the church was designed by William Boulton who crafted the woodwork at nearby Sotterley Plantation.  It is an outstanding example of colonial architecture.  The church’s brick exterior has an unusual inset portico, a large Palladian window, and two towers.   The interior features balconies, and original box pews.  A hand-lettered altarpiece, or reredos, was painted in 1771, and is one of three surviving in the country.  Listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Christ Episcopal Church, Chaptico

23590 Maddox Road, Chaptico, MD 20621
Phone: 301-884-3451  •  http://www.cckqp.net/

Built of red brick with Flemish bond and glazed headers, significant interior features include a semi-circular chancel, arched ceiling, crowned columns, and boxed pews.  During the War of 1812, the British vandalized the village of Chaptico, doing extensive damage to Christ Church and desecrating its cemetery.  Several members of the Francis Scott Key family are buried in the Key Family vault.  The church is on the National Register of Historic Places.

St. George’s Episcopal Church

19167 Poplar Hill Lane, Valley Lee, MD, 20692
Phone: 301-994-0585  •  http://www.stgeorgesvalleylee.org/

The first wooden church was built here between 1638 and 1642.  The current church built in 1799, is home to the oldest Episcopal Parish in Maryland and has held continuous services on site since 1638.  Listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

St. Francis Xavier Catholic Church

21370 Newtowne Neck Road, Leonardtown, MD 20650
Phone: 301-475-9885 • http://www.stfrancisxavierchurch.org/

Built in 1731, St. Francis Xavier Church replaced the original Newtown Chapel (1662).  Unusual features include the barrel vault ceiling and two octagonal-shaped brick ends.  Also on site is Newtowne Manor (1789) whose Flemish bond brickwork indicates its early construction.  The church and manor, and the 700-acre farm that surrounds it, is an example of a self-contained Jesuit community.  Listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Restaurants

From quick bites to more lavish affairs, there are lots of opportunities to explore Southern Maryland’s unique culinary offerings.

Calvert County

Calvert County‘s rich agricultural heritage and the bounty of its waterways are reflected in the area’s eclectic dining options. http://choosecalvert.com/index.aspx?NID=94

Charles County

http://www.charlescountymd.gov/maps/tourism/tourplan/231

St. Mary’s County

St. Mary’s County has lots of great places to eat from seafood dives to sidewalk cafes to white table cloth establishments. Our local hang-outs are authentically local and our waterfront eateries offer some amazing views. https://www.visitstmarysmd.com/dining/

Three Notch Trail

MUTCD_D9-6_svg Handicapped MUTCD_RS-068_svg Hiking Trail MUTCD_D11-1a_svg Bicycles MUTCD_RS-017_svg Pets on Leash

The Three Notch Trail is a ten ft. wide, asphalt multi use trail is being constructed along the 28-mile County railroad right of way which runs south from Hughesville (in Charles County) to Lexington Park (to the Patuxent River Naval Air Station).  The trail, in northern St. Mary’s County, provides recreational, tourism and transportation opportunities and will promote the health and wellness benefits of hiking and biking.

Phase one begins at Route 236 in New Market and proceeds north to just beyond the County line, for a distance of about 2.25 miles.  Also, Phase five of the trail is now open, running from John Baggett Park in Laurel Grove to MD 5 in Mechanicsville.

Other phases of the trail are planned for construction and opening in the near future.